Flèche de retour liste évènementReturn to event list
22.02.22

de 20h30 à 22h00

Colloque

Moving forward or stumbling backwards: A socio-economic analysis of the consequences of the Covid-19 pandemic for European integration

The second conference of the "Global Europe in the real new (real) millenium" conference series will take place on February 22, 2022 at 8:30 pm and will provide...

Partners: The College of Europe
Flèche de retour liste évènementReturn to event list

Summary

The second conference of the "Global Europe in the real new (real) millenium" conference series will take place on February 22, 2022 at 8:30 pm and will provide a socio-economic reflection on the consequences of the pandemic on the future of European integration. Robert BOYER, renowned economist and fellow at the Institut des Amériques (Paris) and author of Les capitalismes à l'épreuve de la pandémie (2020), will discuss with George PAGOULATOS, professor (with Dia Anagnostou) of the course "Crisis, Changes in European Political Economy and their Impact on Societies" and director of ELIAMEP. The event will be moderated by Didier Georgakakis, academic coordinator of the European General Studies program at the College of Europe.

A position paper was written by Robert BOYER in order to support the conference.

Background

The conference cycle of the European General Studies program is a three-year cycle that aims to investigate the profound consequences of the COVID-19 pandemic. Entitled "Global Europe in the new (real) millennium. The EG interdisciplinary dialogue on European integration in the post-pandemic world", it aims to initiate an interdisciplinary dialogue with European intellectuals on the future of European societies and on the potential changes that are taking place. Indeed, thanks to the Congress of Vienna or the First World War, we have learned that true secular ruptures do not occur at every turn of the century. Today, the global pandemic we have just experienced seems to represent a turning point that has been described as the new true millennium. The profound consequences of the pandemic, after a series of successive crises in the years 2000-2010, may represent a major turning point for European integration.

Thus, the cycle 'Global Europe and the (real) new millennium' invites to question the trajectory of European integration at the dawn of the 21st century. Around which principles will the construction of Europe take place? In what way should the new Weltaschauung that attempted to build the Union around its new geopolitical claim and a new green deal be recomposed? How, where and to what extent? What is the likely impact on the legal-political, economic and social models that the European Union wants to embody, what are the risks in terms of global and intra-European inequalities, and what are the new opportunities to build fairer societies? 

Although there are no simple and definitive answers to these questions, the interdisciplinary dialogue with internationally recognized intellectuals and experts will provide valuable insights and renew reflection on the future of Europe's place in the world as a useful counterpoint to the resurgent debate on institutional reforms.

A first conference has already taken place in December 2021 focusing on what history can teach us about post-pandemic Europe with a discussion between Patrick PASTURE, professor of European and world history at the University of Leuven and author of Imagining European unity since 1000 AD and Professor Wolfram KAISER, professor of the course "The historical foundations of the EU". This conference has been recorded and published as a podcast.

Flèche de retour liste évènementRetour à la liste des événements
22.02.22

de 20h30 à 22h00

Colloque

Moving forward or stumbling backwards: A socio-economic analysis of the consequences of the Covid-19 pandemic for European integration

La deuxième conférence du cycle de Conférence "Global Europe in the real new (real) millenium" aura lieu le 22 février 2022 à 20h30 et elle apportera une réflexion socio-économique sur les conséquences de la pandémie...

Partenaires : Le Collège d'Europe
Flèche de retour liste évènementRetour à la liste des événements

Résumé

La deuxième conférence du cycle de Conférence "Global Europe in the real new (real) millenium" aura lieu le 22 février 2022 à 20h30 et elle apportera une réflexion socio-économique sur les conséquences de la pandémie sur le futur de l'intégration européenne. Robert BOYER, économiste renommé et fellow à l’Institut des Amériques (Paris) et auteur de Les capitalismes à l'épreuve de la pandémie (2020), discutera avec George PAGOULATOS, professeur (avec Dia Anagnostou) du cours “Crisis, Changes in European Political Economy and their Impact on Societies” et directeur d'ELIAMEP. L’événement sera modéré par Didier Georgakakis, coordinateur académique du programme Etudes européennes générales. 

Un position paper a été écrit par Robert BOYER dans le but d’étayer le propos de la conférence.

Contexte

Le cycle de conférence du programme Etudes Européennes Générales est un cycle en trois ans qui a pour but d'investiguer sur les conséquences profondes de la pandémie du COVID-19. Intitulé "Global Europe in the new (real) millenium. The EG interdisciplinary dialogue on European integration in the post-pandemic world", il veut initier un dialogue interdisciplinaire avec des intellectuels européens sur le futur des sociétes européennes et sur les changements potentiels qui sont en train de se produire. En effet, grâce au Congrès de Vienne ou à la Première Guerre mondiale, nous avons appris que les véritables ruptures séculaires ne surviennent pas à chaque tournant de siècle. Aujourd’hui, la pandémie mondiale que nous venons de vivre semble représenter un tournant qui a été décrit comme le nouveau vrai millenium. Les profondes conséquences de la pandémie, après une suite de crises successives dans les années 2000-2010, peut représenter un tournant majeur pour l’intégration européenne.

Ainsi, Le cycle ‘Global Europe and the (real) new millennium’ invite à s’interroger sur la trajectoire de l’intégration européenne à l’aube du XXIème siècle. Autour de quels principes la construction européennes se fera-t-elle ? En quoi la nouvelle Weltaschauung qui tentait de fabriquer l’Union autour de sa nouvelle revendication géopolitique et d’une nouvelle donne verte doit-elle se recomposer ? Comment, où et dans quelle mesure ? Quel est finalement l’impact probable tant sur les modèles juridico-politiques qu’économiques et sociaux que l’Union Européenne veut incarner, quels sont les risques sur le plan des inégalités tant mondiales qu’intra-européenne, les nouvelles opportunités pour construire des sociétés plus justes ? 

Bien qu’il n’y ait pas de réponses simples et définitives à ces questions, le dialogue interdisciplinaire avec des intellectuels et des experts internationalement reconnus amènera des éclairages précieux et renouvellera la réflexion sur l’avenir de la place de l’Europe dans le monde en utile contre point aux débat renaissants sur les réformes institutionnelles.

Une première conférence a déjà eu lieu en décembre 2021 centrée sur ce que l'histoire peut nous apprendre sur l'Europe post-pandémie avec une discussion entre Patrick PASTURE, professeur d'histoire européenne et mondiale à l'Université de Louvain et auteur de Imagining European unity since 1000 AD et le professeur Wolfram KAISER, professeur du cours "The historical foundations of the EU". Cette conférence a été enregistrée et publiée sous forme de podcast.