Former President of the French Republic.

François HOLLANDE was born on 12 August 1954 in Rouen. He has four children. François HOLLANDE is a graduate of HEC Paris and of the Institut d'études politiques de Paris. He is a former student of the École nationale d'administration (ENA), promotion Voltaire in 1980. In 1980, he became an auditor at the Cour des Comptes. In 1981, following the election of François MITTERRAND to the presidency of the Republic, François HOLLANDE was appointed chargé de mission at the Élysée. In 1983, he was appointed chief of staff to two ministers in the Pierre MAUROY government. In the 1988 legislative elections, following the re-election of François MITTERRAND, he was elected deputy for the first constituency of Corrèze. From 1988 to 1991, he was professor of economics at the Institut d'études politiques de Paris. In 1993, he became president of Jacques DELORS' "Témoin" club, which he kept until 1997. In 1995, he was the spokesman for the Socialist Party. In 1997, after Lionel Jospin's victory in the legislative elections, François HOLLANDE became First Secretary of the Socialist Party. He remained in this position until 2008. Mayor of Tulle from 2001 to 2008, President of the Corrèze General Council from 2008 to 2012, he was a Member of Parliament from 1988 to 2012. After his victory in the Socialist primary in October 2011, François HOLLANDE was declared winner of the presidential election on 6 May 2012. He became the 7th Head of State of the 5th Republic. He now chairs the Fondation la France s'engage, which supports projects focused on commitment and social innovation. Since his departure from the Elysée, he has written several works of reflection on his political career, "Les leçons du pouvoir", the functioning of the Fifth Republic, "Réponse à la crise démocratique", "Leur République", "Leur Etat" expliquée aux jeunes et aux moins jeunes. On the occasion of the release of these books, he held numerous book signings, thus multiplying his meetings with the French. Finally, he is the honorary president of the association "Stop Corruption" created by Michel Sapin, Michel Hinault, Daniel Lebèque and Gérard Rameix.